Free government phone providers, compared
Every carrier below ships a working phone with $0 monthly service through the federal Lifeline program. They differ on network, data, devices, and whether an iPhone is on the table. Every fact is dated and linked to its source, most recently verified 2026-09-23. Want a ranked answer instead of a directory? See the programs compared by situation.
At a glance
| Provider | Network | States | iPhone? | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Assurance Wireless | T-Mobile, 4G LTE and 5G where available (lower data priority than T-Mobile-branded plans in congestion) | 49 | No | 2026-09-23 |
| AirTalk Wireless | Multi-carrier (network not stated by carrier) | 38 | Yes | 2026-08-30 |
| SafeLink Wireless | Verizon | All 50 | No | 2026-08-30 |
| TAG Mobile | Multi-carrier (partners with leading carriers; specific network unconfirmed) | 23 | Yes | 2026-08-30 |
| Life Wireless | Nationwide 5G/4G LTE (host network not stated by carrier) | 43 | No | 2026-08-30 |
| TruConnect | T-Mobile | 23 | No | 2026-08-30 |
| StandUp Wireless | T-Mobile (unconfirmed by carrier site) | 32 | No | 2026-08-30 |
| Q Link Wireless | T-Mobile | 34 | No | 2026-08-30 |
| Gen Mobile | Multi-network GSM (rides major 5G networks incl. T-Mobile/AT&T) | 24 | No | 2026-08-30 |
| Access Wireless | Nationwide GSM 4G LTE and 5G (host network not named by the carrier) | 37 | No | 2026-09-18 |
| Assist Wireless | Nationwide 4G LTE and 5G (host network not named by the carrier) | 4 | No | 2026-09-18 |
| Easy Wireless | GSM 4G LTE and 5G (host network not named by the carrier) | 4 | No | 2026-09-18 |
| SafetyNet Wireless | AT&T and T-Mobile, 4G LTE and 5G where available (dual-host MVNO) | 26 | No | 2026-09-18 |
| enTouch Wireless | AT&T and T-Mobile 4G LTE (the carrier names T-Mobile on its About page and publishes both coverage maps) | 14 | No | 2026-09-18 |
| American Assistance | T-Mobile on americanassistance.com; the .net site instead requires an unlocked AT&T-compatible phone | 26 | No | 2026-09-18 |
| True Wireless | Not named by the carrier; their pages say only LTE | 5 | No | 2026-09-18 |
Which provider is best for you?
You want an iPhone: start with AirTalk Wireless or TAG Mobile — the only carriers we track with verified iPhone lineups (older refurbished models; newer ones carry a co-pay). You want maximum coverage certainty: pick the carrier on the network with the best signal at your home. That matters more than any plan difference, because a bigger data bucket is worthless on one bar. You want a tablet too: Q Link Wireless has the most consistent tablet offer (co-pay applies, a federal rule). You already own a phone you like: any carrier's BYOD SIM or eSIM is the fastest route to working service, usually same-week.
How to choose in three steps
- Coverage first. Note which network each carrier rides (table above), then check that network's signal at your actual address. Ask a neighbor on it, or check the network's coverage map for your street, not your city.
- Device second. iPhone people: shortlist the iPhone shippers and read their model tables. Everyone else: the free Android is comparable across carriers, so don't let device marketing decide.
- Tie-breakers last. Data allowance, hotspot policy, replacement fees and support quality. Each provider page lists these with the date we verified them, plus the application walkthrough and common rejection fixes.
All providers
Assurance Wireless
Assurance Wireless is T-Mobile's Lifeline brand and the widest-footprint carrier we track, in 48 states and DC by its own state picker. The free plan is unlimited talk and text with 10GB of high-speed data on T-Mobile's 4G and 5G network, 12GB in California and on Tribal lands, with hotspot included. The handset is a free basic Android whose model depends on stock; iPhones exist only as full-price purchases in their store. Two things to know before you rely on it: Assurance ends service after 30 days without use and makes you reapply from scratch, and its own pages disagree with each other on the size of the paid data add-on and on California's data allowance.
T-Mobile 4G LTE and 5G · 49 states · verified 2026-09-23
AirTalk Wirelessships iPhones
AirTalk Wireless is the provider most associated with free government iPhones: refurbished models under Lifeline, with the exact model depending on inventory and ZIP, and co-pays on newer devices.
AT&T and T-Mobile (per their own blog; not named in their terms) · 38 states · verified 2026-08-30
SafeLink Wireless
SafeLink (TracFone/Verizon) is the only major Lifeline brand available in all 50 states, shipping a free Android smartphone or free SIM for your own phone with monthly data.
Verizon · all 50 states · verified 2026-08-30
TAG Mobileships iPhones
TAG Mobile is a mid-size Lifeline carrier with heavy search demand for its application-status and free-phone offers; device lineup rotates, so every claim on this page is dated.
multi-carrier, host not named · 23 states · verified 2026-08-30
Life Wireless
Life Wireless is a long-running Lifeline carrier with unusually broad state coverage (43 states plus Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands on its own plans page) and a plan built around unlimited talk and text with a state-by-state high-speed data allowance. It leans on BYOD (bring your own phone, keep your number), which makes it one of the faster routes to $0 service if you already own an unlocked handset.
nationwide 5G/4G LTE, host not named · 43 states · verified 2026-08-30
TruConnect
TruConnect is a T-Mobile-network Lifeline carrier strongest in California (its own LifeLine program) with free smartphone plus hotspot data.
T-Mobile · 23 states · verified 2026-08-30
StandUp Wireless
StandUp Wireless is the lowest-competition major target in our keyword data (KD ~17): meaningful search demand for login, application and free-phone terms with thin competing coverage.
T-Mobile (not confirmed on their site) · 32 states · verified 2026-08-30
Q Link Wireless
Q Link Wireless is a large T-Mobile-network Lifeline carrier known for unlimited plans and its discounted tablet offer (a co-pay applies, because tablets are never fully free under Lifeline).
T-Mobile · 34 states · verified 2026-08-30
Gen Mobile
Gen Mobile is a growing Lifeline brand with rising brand search; device lineup and state list rotate, so treat every figure here as dated.
GSM, T-Mobile or AT&T · 24 states · verified 2026-08-30
Access Wireless
Access Wireless is the Lifeline brand of i-wireless LLC, and USAC's own carrier data puts it in 37 states, which makes it one of the broadest footprints of any carrier we track. It promises free talk, text, high-speed data and hotspot with no activation fee or contract. What it does not do is tell you how much of any of that you get: nowhere on the site is there a published minute, text or data figure, which is unusual even in this market.
Nationwide GSM 4G LTE and 5G (host network not named by the carrier) · 37 states · verified 2026-09-18
Assist Wireless
Assist Wireless is a small four-state Lifeline carrier, Arkansas, Maryland, Missouri and Oklahoma, that does something almost nobody else in this category does: it runs about 30 physical stores you can walk into, nearly all of them in Oklahoma. It calls itself the state's number one Lifeline provider. Its Tribal plan is the real headline, upgrading Oklahoma Tribal households from 300 minutes and 300 texts to unlimited talk and text, and reserving the free-phone promotion for them.
4G LTE and 5G · 4 states · verified 2026-09-18
Easy Wireless
Easy Wireless is the Lifeline brand of Easy Telephone Services Company, LLC, a Florida company that runs an oddly Oklahoma-shaped business: 41 walk-in stores across 35 Oklahoma towns, and service in only four states, Arkansas, Kentucky, Missouri and Oklahoma. What you get differs enormously by state. Arkansas and Missouri customers get 4.5GB a month. Kentucky and Oklahoma customers get 25MB, unless they qualify on Tribal lands, where the plan jumps to unlimited talk and text with several gigabytes.
GSM 4G LTE and 5G · 4 states · verified 2026-09-18
SafetyNet Wireless
SafetyNet Wireless is the Lifeline brand of AmeriMex Communications Corp., a Florida company serving 26 states. It is worth knowing two things before you apply. Outside California its free tier is thin to the point of being nominal, 25MB of data a month in most states, and it charges a $25 activation fee that most Lifeline carriers do not. In exchange it publishes a fuller fee schedule than almost anyone else in this category, runs real weekend support hours, and documents protections for domestic violence survivors that most carriers leave unwritten.
AT&T and T-Mobile 4G LTE and 5G · 26 states · verified 2026-09-18
enTouch Wireless
enTouch Wireless is the consumer brand of Boomerang Wireless, LLC, a Dallas company and a founding member of the National Lifeline Association. Federal data shows it active in 14 states. Its own site claims 37. The thing most write-ups get wrong is the device: enTouch limits the free phone to new Tribal and California LifeLine enrollments, and everywhere else you get a SIM card and supply your own handset. It also runs physical stores, which very few Lifeline carriers do.
AT&T and T-Mobile 4G LTE · 14 states · verified 2026-09-18
American Assistance
American Assistance is the Lifeline brand of American Broadband and Telecommunications Company, LLC, an Ohio carrier that also sells home and business service, so it is a real operator rather than a Lifeline shell. Federal data puts it in 26 states, and the plan is generous on paper: unlimited talk and text with 4.5GB, or 6GB in California. The awkward part is that AMBT runs two separate live websites under this one brand, and they disagree about which network you get, whether California is served, and whether a free phone is on offer at all.
T-Mobile or AT&T, depending on which of their two sites enrolls you · 26 states · verified 2026-09-18
True Wireless
True Wireless is an Oklahoma City company that has been in the Lifeline program since 2008, serving five states: Oklahoma, Texas, Arkansas, Maryland and Rhode Island. Its footprint is one of the few that its own site and federal data agree on exactly. The problem is everything else. It no longer publishes a plan, a device list, a fee schedule or support hours anywhere, its old per-state plan pages return 404, and proof of eligibility still has to go by fax, email or post. Enrollment is genuinely open; it is simply hard to find out what you are enrolling in.
LTE · 5 states · verified 2026-09-18
Switching, duplicates and the one-per-household rule
Lifeline is one benefit per household, not per person. The #1 cause of rejected applications is a second sign-up at an address that already has one (separate households at the same address can each qualify with a Household Worksheet). You're never locked in forever: to switch carriers, apply with the new one and the National Verifier transfers the benefit. Keep your number by porting during enrollment, and don't cancel the old service first. If a carrier stops serving your state or your recertification lapses, the benefit belongs to you, not the carrier: re-enroll with any provider on this page.
How this directory is verified
We don't rank carriers by commission, because we don't take any. Every claim on a provider page (plans, devices, fees, states) carries the date we last verified it against the carrier's official documentation, and anything older than 45 days is flagged and pulled from search until re-checked. That's also why some cells say "inventory-dependent" instead of promising a specific phone: in this market, an undated promise is a lie. Details in our editorial policy; pick your state's state guide to see only the carriers that serve you.
Common questions
What is the best free government phone provider?
There's no single best. It depends on which network has signal at your home, whether you want an iPhone, and how much data you use. The comparison table and "which is best for you" section above match each situation to a carrier, with the date we verified each fact.
Who has the best free government phones?
Carriers that ship iPhones (see the table) offer the best-known devices, but the free model is always inventory-dependent and often refurbished. If device quality is your priority, BYOD (a free SIM in a phone you already own) beats any carrier's free handset.
Can I sign up with two providers?
No. Lifeline is one benefit per household, so a second enrollment gets flagged as a duplicate and rejected. Pick one carrier; you can switch later without losing the benefit.
How do I switch providers?
Apply with the new carrier. The National Verifier moves your benefit automatically after any lock-in window (typically up to 60 days for phone service after enrollment) passes. Your number can port over; don't cancel the old service first.
Are these providers legitimate?
Every carrier listed here is an authorized Lifeline company (ETC). Each one's "Is it legit?" page shows how to verify that yourself on USAC's official list. Never take any directory's word for it, including ours.
Gov-Grants.org is an independent guide, not a carrier and not a government agency. We never charge fees, and every fact above links to its source with the date we checked it. Program details change; confirm on the official site before applying.