ⓘ Independent guide — not a government agency. We never charge fees.

Best free government phone programs, compared

Last verified:

Start with the fact that reframes the whole question: there is only one program. Lifeline is the federal benefit, and every "program" advertised at you — Assurance, SafeLink, AirTalk, TruConnect, Q Link and the rest — is a carrier delivering it. So "best program" really means best carrier for your situation, and that answer changes with your address, your phone and what you need.

Best for your situation — the short answers

If you want…Start withWhy
A free iPhoneAirTalk Wireless, TAG MobileThe only carriers in our data listing iPhones — AirTalk at $0 (7 through 11, refurbished), TAG as discounted purchases
The safest bet anywhereSafeLink WirelessAuthorized in all 50 states, so it's available wherever you move
Hotspot / tetheringAssurance Wireless, SafeLink Wireless, Life Wireless, TruConnectThe carriers whose verified plan rows include hotspot data — the only $0 route to home internet
A tablet tooQ Link WirelessMost consistent tablet offer — a federal co-pay always applies, so no tablet is truly free
Service working todayAny carrier, BYODA free SIM or eSIM in a phone you already own skips the device-shipping wait entirely
Best coverage at homeWhoever rides the strongest network at your addressCoverage beats every plan difference — a big data bucket is worthless on one bar

Every carrier we track, side by side

CarrierNetworkStatesHigh-speed dataHotspotiPhoneVerified
Assurance WirelessT-Mobile4010GB high-speed (15GB on upgraded plan; varies by state)YesNo2026-08-30
AirTalk WirelessMulti-carrier (network not stated by carrier)38Up to 10GB high-speed (varies by state)NoYes2026-08-30
SafeLink WirelessVerizonAll 50Varies by state (up to 25GB advertised historically — verify)YesNo2026-08-30
TAG MobileMulti-carrier (partners with leading carriers; specific network unconfirmed)23Up to 16GB high-speed (varies by state)NoYes2026-08-30
Life WirelessNationwide 5G/4G LTE (host network not stated by carrier)43Free high-speed data, amount varies by state (throttled to 256 kbps after the allowance)YesNo2026-08-30
TruConnectT-Mobile2314GB + hotspot (verify)YesNo2026-08-30
StandUp WirelessT-Mobile (unconfirmed by carrier site)324.5GB+ (varies by state)NoNo2026-08-30
Q Link WirelessT-Mobile34Free data allotment (amount varies by state)NoNo2026-08-30
Gen MobileMulti-network GSM (rides major 5G networks incl. T-Mobile/AT&T)244.5GB/month in most states (more where state subsidies add on)NoNo2026-08-30

Talk and text are unlimited on every carrier above, so they aren't a column. Data allowances differ by state on most carriers — the figure shown is what the carrier advertises nationally, checked on the date in the last column.

How to actually choose, in three steps

  1. Filter by state first. A carrier that isn't authorized where you live is off the list no matter how good the plan looks — open your state guide to see the real shortlist.
  2. Then filter by network signal at your address. Ask a neighbour whose carrier works, or check the host network's coverage map for your street rather than your city. This single step decides more satisfaction than everything else combined.
  3. Then pick on device and data. iPhone hunters have two candidates; everyone else gets a comparable entry-level Android, so compare the high-speed data figure and whether hotspot is included. Already own a phone you like? BYOD makes the device column irrelevant.

Why "best" lists elsewhere disagree with each other

Most "best free government phone" articles are published by carriers themselves — which is why the winner is always the site you're reading. The rest are affiliate sites paid per sign-up, so the ranking follows the commission. We take neither: no commissions, no referral fees, no sponsored placements. That's what lets this page say a tablet isn't free, that an "unlimited" plan throttles, or that the carrier with the loudest ads may not serve your state. Our editorial policy spells out the verification standard: every figure dated, sourced to the carrier's own documentation, and re-checked before it goes stale.

Looking for the best program in your state?

State lineups differ enough that the national answer is often wrong locally — and California is a genuinely different program (its state LifeLine subsidy makes plans richer than the same carrier offers elsewhere). Every state page ranks the carriers actually serving that state, with the local income limits and application steps: Texas, Florida, Ohio, Illinois, Pennsylvania, New York, or pick yours from all 50.

Common questions

What is the best free government phone program?

There is only one federal program — Lifeline. Every 'program' you see advertised (Assurance, SafeLink, AirTalk, TruConnect and the rest) is a carrier delivering that same benefit, so the real question is which carrier suits you. Choose on network coverage at your address first, then device, then data.

Which free government phone has unlimited everything?

Unlimited talk and text is standard across carriers. 'Unlimited data' claims always carry a fair-use throttle threshold, and the high-speed allotment is what actually matters — so compare the high-speed figure in the table above, which we verify against each carrier's own site.

Which carrier gives a free iPhone?

In our verified data, AirTalk lists free refurbished iPhones (7, 8, 8 Plus, SE 2, XS and 11 at $0). TAG Mobile sells refurbished iPhones at a discount rather than giving them away. Availability is inventory- and ZIP-dependent everywhere.

Which free government phone program is best for seniors?

The one on the network with the strongest signal at home — a senior who rarely leaves the house needs coverage and clear calls, not a big data bucket. SafeLink is authorized in all 50 states, which makes it the safest default when you're unsure; check your state page for the local lineup.

Can I switch if I pick the wrong carrier?

Yes. Apply with the new carrier and the National Verifier transfers your benefit after any lock-in window (typically up to 60 days). Port your number during enrollment and don't cancel the old service first.

Do you get paid to rank these carriers?

No. We take no commissions or referral fees from any carrier, which is why this page can say a carrier's offer is weak. Every figure carries the date we verified it against the carrier's own documentation.

Gov-Grants.org is an independent guide — not a carrier and not a government agency. We never charge fees, and every fact above links to its source with the date we checked it. Program details change; confirm on the official site before applying.