ⓘ Independent guide · not a government agency · we never charge fees

Assurance Wireless Free Government Phone: Plans, Devices & Support

Last verified: · by Arif

Assurance Wireless is T-Mobile's Lifeline brand and the widest-footprint carrier we track, in 48 states and DC by its own state picker. The free plan is unlimited talk and text with 10GB of high-speed data on T-Mobile's 4G and 5G network, 12GB in California and on Tribal lands, with hotspot included. The handset is a free basic Android whose model depends on stock; iPhones exist only as full-price purchases in their store. Two things to know before you rely on it: Assurance ends service after 30 days without use and makes you reapply from scratch, and its own pages disagree with each other on the size of the paid data add-on and on California's data allowance.

Assurance Wireless at a glance

Network
T-Mobile, 4G LTE and 5G where available (lower data priority than T-Mobile-branded plans in congestion)
States served
49 states
Device policy
Free smartphone (Android): a free basic Android smartphone (model set by availability), with low-cost paid devices from $25 and iPhones sold at full price in the authorised store
Plan
Unlimited talk and text with 10GB of high-speed data, 12GB in California and on Tribal lands. Hotspot up to LTE speeds inside the allowance. A $1 a month Data Peace of Mind add-on raises it, to 15GB on their plans page · 5G · hotspot
Support
1-888-321-5880
Apply
official application
Login
my account
Check status
status page

Does Assurance Wireless give a free iPhone?

No. Assurance Wireless does not ship iPhones under Lifeline, and you get a free Android smartphone instead. See our free government iPhone guide for the providers that do.

How to apply

  1. Enter your ZIP and email on the apply-now page to confirm Assurance serves your address. The check can return 'available, but network coverage may be limited'. Treat that as a reason to look at the T-Mobile coverage map for your street before you continue.
  2. Fill in the application. Assurance says it takes 7 to 10 minutes, and you will be redirected to the National Verifier partway through. Texas is different: your details go to the Texas Public Utility Commission instead. California is different again, and their own pages disagree about how; see the California FAQ below.
  3. Prove eligibility with one document if the databases cannot confirm you: a benefit card with your name and a date, or an award letter or benefits statement dated inside 12 months. For the income route they accept last year's tax return, a current employer statement, or three consecutive months of pay stubs or Social Security, VA, retirement or unemployment statements, all from the last 12 months.
  4. Choose your device path: the free basic smartphone, bring your own unlocked phone with a free SIM or eSIM, or buy a low-cost device from $25. Run your IMEI through their BYOD checker first. It confirms the bands but, in their own words, does not indicate whether your phone is locked.
  5. Wait for the decision. Assurance publishes 7 to 10 days for processing, then a letter and an email. Approved orders ship UPS 2-day. Orders placed late Friday or to a PO box are slower, and PO box shipments carry no tracking. Call if nothing has arrived after 10 days.
  6. Activate: charge the phone, insert the SIM with the gold contacts down, follow the prompts and make a test call. Then use the line at least once every 30 days. For eSIM, be on Wi-Fi, wait for the eSIM-ready notification and pick Assurance Wireless under network settings. There is no QR-code route published.

Why applications get stuck, and the fix

  • Service cancelled for not using the phone

    Cause: Assurance applies the FCC rule strictly: no call, text or off-Wi-Fi data for 30 days triggers a notice, and 15 more days of silence ends the service. Call forwarding does not count as use

    Fix: One outgoing call or text a month keeps it alive. If it has already been cancelled, there is no reinstatement; you file a new application from the availability check and they post a new SIM or refresh the eSIM. Until then the phone works at 10 cents a minute and 10 cents a text.

  • Cannot check status because you forgot the Account PIN or Application ID

    Cause: The status page asks for the PIN you created when applying, and most people never wrote it down

    Fix: Use the alternate lookup boxes on the same page: your alternate phone number plus date of birth, or date of birth plus the last four of your SSN. Do not reapply; a second application at the same address reads as a duplicate.

  • BYOD phone passed the compatibility check but has no service

    Cause: The IMEI checker confirms bands only. Their own page says it does not indicate whether the phone is locked, and a phone locked to another carrier will not connect

    Fix: Get the previous carrier to unlock it first, then reseat the SIM and power off for 30 seconds. If it still fails, call 1-888-321-5880 from a different phone with the IMEI and SIM number ready.

  • Phone never arrived and there is no tracking

    Cause: Shipments to PO boxes carry no tracking, and orders placed late on Friday or at the weekend leave later than the 2-day promise suggests

    Fix: Wait the full 10 days Assurance quotes, then call with the application ID. Check the shipping confirmation went to the email you applied with, including spam.

  • Locked out of My Account

    Cause: Sign-in needs the phone number, a 6 to 15 digit PIN and a text code sent to the Assurance line, so no working handset means no code

    Fix: Reset the PIN via the help-center PIN article or call Customer Care. Dial 611 from the handset if it works at all. Do not open a second account.

  • California application seems to stall for weeks

    Cause: California LifeLine runs its own paper step: a pink envelope from the state administrator with a PIN, and Assurance says sign-up is not complete until that application is returned

    Fix: Watch the post for the pink envelope and return it or complete it online at californialifeline.com with the PIN. Do not resubmit inside 30 days; Assurance says California processing can take that long and a resubmission restarts the clock.

Fees and hidden costs

FeeAmountNotesVerified
Data Peace of Mind add-on, monthly$1.00Or $10 a year. Their plans page says it takes you to 15GB; one help article says 12GB and another says it adds 5GB. Ask which applies before you pay2026-09-23
Data add-on, 1GB for 30 days$5.00Other tiers: 100MB $1, 500MB $3, 2GB $10, 4GB $20, 5GB $30. Bought in My Account, by phone, or with top-up cards at Dollar General, Family Dollar, Walmart.com, Speedway and 7-Eleven2026-09-23
Low-cost phone instead of the free one$25.00Starting price on their phone-options page plus tax and shipping; Artia SP555 $31.99, FOXXD A55 $39.99, Revvl 6x Pro 5G $90, Galaxy A15 5G $992026-09-23
iPhone SE, bought outright$129.99On /phone-options. The Quality One store lists the same iPhone SE (3rd gen) at $209, iPhone 11 at $229 and iPhone 12 at $249. Two official prices; confirm at checkout2026-09-23
Device unlock$0.00Free once the phone has been active 12 months and was not reported lost or stolen; Assurance says it unlocks eligible devices remotely within two business days2026-09-23

Common questions

What is the Assurance Wireless phone number?

1-888-321-5880, Monday to Sunday 7am to 7pm Central, from their contact page. From an Assurance phone you can dial 611, which their security page describes as available 24/7, so the two published hours do not agree. Coverage and California request-sheet questions go to 1-888-898-4888. There is no published chat or email. The mailing address is P.O. Box 818, Killeen, TX 76540.

How do I check my Assurance Wireless application status?

On their check-status page under My Account, with your service ZIP, the Account PIN or Application ID you created when applying, and your last name, date of birth or last four of your SSN. Forgot the PIN? The same page has alternate boxes: alternate phone number plus date of birth, or date of birth plus SSN last four. The page names three outcomes, application mailed, approval letter sent, and phone shipped. Assurance publishes 7 to 10 days for processing.

Can I upgrade my Assurance Wireless phone?

There is no subsidised upgrade program. What exists is buying a device outright from one of their two authorised stores, Wireless Creations or Quality One Wireless, and switching your service to it through My Account's Swap or Update Phone tool with the IMEI. Prices start at $25 on their phone-options page. 5G handsets listed include the Revvl 6x Pro 5G at $90 and the Galaxy A15 5G at $99, with the same A15 priced at $169 in the Quality One store.

Does Assurance Wireless have 5G?

Yes. Assurance runs on the T-Mobile network with access to 4G LTE and 5G where available, on a capable device. There is no separate 5G plan and the free plan includes it. Two caveats from their own pages: Assurance traffic gets lower priority than T-Mobile-branded plans when the network is busy, and whether the free handset you receive is 5G-capable is not published; the models vary by availability.

Are Assurance Wireless phones unlocked?

Not at first. Phones Assurance provides unlock free once they have been active for 12 months and were not reported lost or stolen, and Assurance says it unlocks eligible devices remotely within two business days. Deployed military can ask earlier with deployment papers. Assurance adds that an unlocked device is not guaranteed to work on another carrier. Bringing your own phone is supported with a free SIM or eSIM, and the IMEI checker on their BYOD page confirms compatibility but not whether the phone is locked.

How does Assurance Wireless renewal work?

Every year you have to confirm you still qualify. Most people are recertified automatically by a database check. If that fails, USAC contacts you with a 60-day window and up to three reminder calls, and you recertify online through the National Verifier, by an automated phone line, or by mailing the barcoded form. Miss it and you are de-enrolled five business days after the window closes. California and Texas run their own renewals through the state administrators. Assurance itself publishes no deadline; the 60 days comes from USAC.

How do I reapply for Assurance Wireless after my service was cancelled?

You start over. Assurance says that if service was cancelled for inactivity or for not responding during annual certification, you submit a new application beginning at the availability check, and once approved they mail a new SIM or update your eSIM. There is no limit on how often you can apply, and you can change Lifeline providers once every 90 days. California applicants should wait 30 days before resubmitting.

Does Assurance Wireless give a free iPhone?

No. Nothing on assurancewireless.com offers an iPhone for free. The homepage banner mentions iPhones in limited quantities without a price, the phone-options page lists an iPhone SE at $129.99 plus tax and shipping, and the Quality One store lists the iPhone SE at $209, iPhone 11 at $229 and iPhone 12 at $249. The free device is described as a basic Android smartphone. Carriers that publish a verified iPhone list are in our free government iPhone guide.

Is there an Assurance Wireless free data code?

No. Nothing official exists. The only extra data Assurance publishes is paid: the $1 a month Data Peace of Mind add-on and 30-day top-ups from $1 for 100MB to $30 for 5GB. Their own security page warns about account takeover and SIM-swap fraud, and a site or message offering a free data code is a common way to harvest the PIN that protects your account.

How do I replace a lost Assurance Wireless SIM card?

Call 1-888-321-5880 from another phone to report it lost, stolen or damaged; Customer Care orders a replacement, and you call again from a different phone to activate it with the ICCID from the new card. Assurance does not publish a fee for a replacement SIM. A lost phone can be suspended through Customer Care and you get 45 days to replace and reactivate it before the line ends.

What states does Assurance Wireless serve?

Their state picker lists 49 states plus DC, everything except Alaska. We list 48 plus DC, because Assurance's own help center says it stopped participating in Oregon's Lifeline program on 1 April 2022 even though Oregon still appears in the picker. Availability is decided by ZIP, and the check can come back as available with limited coverage, so look at the T-Mobile map for your street.

Gov-Grants.org is an independent guide, not a carrier and not a government agency. We never charge fees, and every fact above links to its source with the date we checked it. Program details change; confirm on the official site before applying.