Assurance Wireless Free Phones: Devices You Actually Get
Last verified: · by Arif
- Overview
- Phones
- Customer Service
- Login / My Account
- Check Status
- How to Apply
- Replacement Phone
- Is It Legit?
What Assurance Wireless actually ships: a free Android smartphone, model set by inventory. Specifically, a free basic Android smartphone (model set by availability), with low-cost paid devices from $25 and iPhones sold at full price in the authorised store. Exact models rotate with stock, so every claim below carries the date we checked it.
The Assurance Wireless plan, verified 2026-09-23: Unlimited talk and text with 10GB of high-speed data, 12GB in California and on Tribal lands. Hotspot up to LTE speeds inside the allowance. A $1 a month Data Peace of Mind add-on raises it, to 15GB on their plans page, 5G where the device and coverage allow, hotspot included. Source.
Bringing your own phone to Assurance Wireless
Any unlocked phone that works on the T-Mobile 4G LTE and 5G bands will run on Assurance Wireless. Dial *#06# for the IMEI and run it through the compatibility step of the application. A phone that is still locked to another carrier fails even when the bands match, and the checker usually cannot tell you that. If data works after activation but MMS or hotspot does not, the fix is the APN values from Assurance Wireless's own support pages, then a restart.
Does Assurance Wireless give a free iPhone?
No. Assurance Wireless does not ship iPhones under Lifeline, and you get a free Android smartphone instead. See our free government iPhone guide for the providers that do.
Fees and hidden costs
| Fee | Amount | Notes | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Low-cost phone instead of the free one | $25.00 | Starting price on their phone-options page plus tax and shipping; Artia SP555 $31.99, FOXXD A55 $39.99, Revvl 6x Pro 5G $90, Galaxy A15 5G $99 | 2026-09-23 |
| iPhone SE, bought outright | $129.99 | On /phone-options. The Quality One store lists the same iPhone SE (3rd gen) at $209, iPhone 11 at $229 and iPhone 12 at $249. Two official prices; confirm at checkout | 2026-09-23 |
| Device unlock | $0.00 | Free once the phone has been active 12 months and was not reported lost or stolen; Assurance says it unlocks eligible devices remotely within two business days | 2026-09-23 |
Device problems Assurance Wireless customers hit
- Service cancelled for not using the phone
Cause: Assurance applies the FCC rule strictly: no call, text or off-Wi-Fi data for 30 days triggers a notice, and 15 more days of silence ends the service. Call forwarding does not count as use
Fix: One outgoing call or text a month keeps it alive. If it has already been cancelled, there is no reinstatement; you file a new application from the availability check and they post a new SIM or refresh the eSIM. Until then the phone works at 10 cents a minute and 10 cents a text.
- BYOD phone passed the compatibility check but has no service
Cause: The IMEI checker confirms bands only. Their own page says it does not indicate whether the phone is locked, and a phone locked to another carrier will not connect
Fix: Get the previous carrier to unlock it first, then reseat the SIM and power off for 30 seconds. If it still fails, call 1-888-321-5880 from a different phone with the IMEI and SIM number ready.
Assurance Wireless phone questions
Can I upgrade my Assurance Wireless phone?
There is no subsidised upgrade program. What exists is buying a device outright from one of their two authorised stores, Wireless Creations or Quality One Wireless, and switching your service to it through My Account's Swap or Update Phone tool with the IMEI. Prices start at $25 on their phone-options page. 5G handsets listed include the Revvl 6x Pro 5G at $90 and the Galaxy A15 5G at $99, with the same A15 priced at $169 in the Quality One store.
Does Assurance Wireless have 5G?
Yes. Assurance runs on the T-Mobile network with access to 4G LTE and 5G where available, on a capable device. There is no separate 5G plan and the free plan includes it. Two caveats from their own pages: Assurance traffic gets lower priority than T-Mobile-branded plans when the network is busy, and whether the free handset you receive is 5G-capable is not published; the models vary by availability.
Are Assurance Wireless phones unlocked?
Not at first. Phones Assurance provides unlock free once they have been active for 12 months and were not reported lost or stolen, and Assurance says it unlocks eligible devices remotely within two business days. Deployed military can ask earlier with deployment papers. Assurance adds that an unlocked device is not guaranteed to work on another carrier. Bringing your own phone is supported with a free SIM or eSIM, and the IMEI checker on their BYOD page confirms compatibility but not whether the phone is locked.
More on Assurance Wireless: the full record with every question we answer, or compare it with the other carriers in your state guide.
Gov-Grants.org is an independent guide, not a carrier and not a government agency. We never charge fees, and every fact above links to its source with the date we checked it. Program details change; confirm on the official site before applying.