AirVoice Wireless Free Government Phone: Read This First
Last verified:
If you searched for an AirVoice Wireless free government phone and hit a wall, here is why: AirVoice does not run a Lifeline program. Its sister brand, AirTalk Wireless, does, and both belong to the same company. Air Voice Wireless, LLC of Houston, Texas trades as AirTalk Wireless. One company, two storefronts, and only one of them gives away free service.
Which brand does what
| AirVoice Wireless | AirTalk Wireless | |
|---|---|---|
| What it sells | Paid prepaid plans | Free Lifeline service |
| Monthly cost | From about $6 | $0 for qualified households |
| Lifeline enrollment | None on the site | Yes, with a status checker |
| Free phone | No | Yes, refurbished, iPhones included |
| Mobile hotspot | Advertised on paid plans | Listed as coming soon |
| Networks | AT&T and T-Mobile | AT&T and T-Mobile |
Brand split and network attribution as published by the company, reviewed 2026-09-18. The legal entity is named in AirTalk's terms and conditions.
Where the confusion comes from
Three things feed it. The names are one letter apart in the part people remember. The old ACP era put both brands on the same marketing materials, so a phone bought in 2023 might say one thing and the paperwork another. And the paid site has no Lifeline page at all, so someone searching for free service finds a price list and assumes the program is gone. It is not. Lifeline is a live federal program and AirTalk is an authorized carrier in it.
What to do instead
- Go to the AirTalk record, not the AirVoice site. Our AirTalk Wireless page has the enrollment link, the support number and the plan details with the date we checked each one.
- If you want an iPhone, this is one of the few carriers that ships them. See the verified model list and co-pays on our AirTalk free iPhone page. Prices there are promotional and move around, so check the date.
- Already applied and waiting? AirTalk has a real status checker that wants your email, ZIP and the last four of your SSN. Our check status guide explains what each result actually means.
- Not sold on either brand? Compare the programs side by side or see who serves your state. One benefit per household, but you can put it with any authorized carrier.
Two things worth knowing before you apply to AirTalk
Their upload rule is unusual and it catches people out. Proof of identity, proof of address and proof of program participation all have to be visible in a single image. Photograph the documents together on one surface rather than uploading three separate shots. Second, the plan varies a lot by state. We have seen 5GB published in Texas, 6GB in Kentucky, 12GB standard in California and 16GB in Oklahoma, so the headline number on the homepage is a ceiling and not a promise.
What we have not verified
Two gaps, so you know where our confidence ends. Neither brand publishes a list of the states it serves, so "nationwide" is their word and the ZIP check at enrollment is the only real answer for your address. And the AirVoice site renders its contact and support pages in a way we could not read, so the paid brand's phone number and hours are not something we can confirm. The AirTalk numbers on our AirTalk support page are published plainly and we did verify those.
Carriers enrolling right now
If AirTalk does not serve your address, any of these is an authorized Lifeline carrier with facts we verify and date:
Assurance Wireless
Free phone + unlimited talk & text + 10GB data on the T-Mobile network
T-Mobile · verified 2026-08-30
AirTalk Wirelessships iPhones
Free iPhones (older models) + unlimited talk/text + up to 10GB data + free international calling
Multi-carrier (network not stated by carrier) · verified 2026-08-30
SafeLink Wireless
Free smartphone with monthly data on the Verizon network
Verizon · verified 2026-08-30
TAG Mobileships iPhones
Free unlimited talk & text + up to 16GB data + free international calling (200+ countries)
Multi-carrier (partners with leading carriers; specific network unconfirmed) · verified 2026-08-30
Life Wireless
Free unlimited talk & text + state-based high-speed data, with strong BYOD support
Nationwide 5G/4G LTE (host network not stated by carrier) · verified 2026-08-30
TruConnect
Free smartphone + hotspot data
T-Mobile · verified 2026-08-30
StandUp Wireless
Free monthly service + discounted devices
T-Mobile (unconfirmed by carrier site) · verified 2026-08-30
Q Link Wireless
Free phone service + tablet offers
T-Mobile · verified 2026-08-30
Gen Mobile
Free phone service with low-cost device offers
Multi-network GSM (rides major 5G networks incl. T-Mobile/AT&T) · verified 2026-08-30
Access Wireless
One of the widest Lifeline footprints we track, 37 states, with hotspot included and no activation fee
Nationwide GSM 4G LTE and 5G (host network not named by the carrier) · verified 2026-09-18
Assist Wireless
Around 30 walk-in stores across Oklahoma, plus the strongest Tribal Lifeline offer we track
4G LTE and 5G · verified 2026-09-18
Easy Wireless
41 walk-in stores across 35 Oklahoma towns, plus a county-by-county Oklahoma assistance directory
GSM 4G LTE and 5G · verified 2026-09-18
SafetyNet Wireless
The most complete published fee schedule of any carrier we track, plus unusually detailed domestic-violence protections
AT&T and T-Mobile 4G LTE and 5G · verified 2026-09-18
enTouch Wireless
Retail stores you can walk into, and the sharpest Tribal upgrade in the program: unlimited talk and text versus 300 and 300
AT&T and T-Mobile 4G LTE · verified 2026-09-18
American Assistance
Unlimited talk and text with 4.5GB on a 26-state footprint, and you can send eligibility documents by text message
T-Mobile or AT&T, depending on which of their two sites enrolls you · verified 2026-09-18
True Wireless
An Oklahoma carrier since 2008 with a strong Tribal focus, though it publishes almost nothing about what you get
LTE · verified 2026-09-18
Check your eligibility in 30 seconds →
Common questions
Does AirVoice Wireless offer a free government phone?
Not under the AirVoice name. Air Voice Wireless, LLC runs two consumer brands: AirVoice, which sells paid prepaid plans, and AirTalk Wireless, which is the Lifeline brand. If you want the free government phone, AirTalk is where you apply. Their own blog states that AirTalk operates under the AirVoice umbrella.
Are AirVoice and AirTalk the same company?
Yes. AirTalk's terms and conditions name the legal entity as Air Voice Wireless, LLC doing business as AirTalk Wireless, a Texas company based in Houston. Both brands describe themselves as part of the HTH Communications family, and the company says both run on AT&T and T-Mobile networks, although AirTalk's own terms decline to name a host carrier.
Why does searching AirVoice Lifeline lead nowhere?
Because airvoicewireless.com has no Lifeline page, no eligibility page and no enrollment form. Its sitemap contains none of those. People search the name they remember from an old phone or a store sign, land on the paid site, and conclude the free program ended. It did not; it is on the other domain.
Is AirVoice Wireless still in business?
Yes. Both sites carry current 2026 copyright and both are actively selling. AirTalk claims more than 1.3 million Lifeline subscribers and says the company has been operating since 1999, which is a long run for this category.
What happened to my AirVoice ACP service?
The Affordable Connectivity Program ended in 2024 and was a separate program from Lifeline. Air Voice published guidance telling former ACP customers to either qualify for Lifeline through AirTalk or move to an AirVoice paid plan. Lifeline itself is still running.
Gov-Grants.org is an independent guide, not a carrier and not a government agency. We never charge fees, and every fact above links to its source with the date we checked it. Program details change; confirm on the official site before applying.